First Central European Polar Meeting















The First Central European Polar Meeting will be held in November 2015 in Vienna. This meeting is a memorial to the Austrian polar explorer and scientist Julius Payer (1841-1915), to commemorate his achievements for the international polar sciences.

It is jointly organized by the Committee on Polar Research of the Polish Academy of Sciences, the Centre for Polar Ecology, Czech Republic, and the Austrian Polar Research Institute, in cooperation with the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

The First Central European Polar Meeting will bring together polar researchers including distinguished scientists and the next generation of polar researchers, from Central European countries and around the globe. This meeting is one of the first international activities of the newly established Central European Polar Partner-ship, which aims at increasing the visibility and co-ordinating polar research in and among the participating countries.

Sessions and Keynote Speakers:

Climate Change and Impact on the Polar Cryosphere Konrad Steffen (WSL, Switzerland)

Polar Ecology

Skip Walker (Alaska Geobotany Center, USA)

Permafrost under Climate Change

Hugues Lantuit (Alfred Wegener Institut, Germany)

History of Polar Research

Susan Barr (Directorate for Cultural Heritage, Norway and International Arctic Science Committee)

Arctic Social and Human Sciences

Gertrude Saxinger (Austrian Polar Research Institute)

The First Central European Polar Meeting will be held from 10th to 13th November 2015 at the Austrian Academy of Science, Vienna, Austria.

Abstract submission deadline:

3 August 2015

Early Bird registration deadline:

18 September 2015

For further information, registration or to submit an abstract, please go to: http://www.polarresearch.at/conference

Scientific Steering Team:

Annett Bartsch (Central Inst. of Meteorology & Geodynamics, AT) Josef Elster (Centre for Polar Ecology, University South Bohemia, CZ) Jacek Jania (Comm. Polar Research, Polish Academy of Sciences, PL)

Günter Köck (Austrian Academy of Sciences, AT)

Andreas Richter (APRI & University Vienna, AT)

Wolfgang Schöner (APRI & University Graz, AT)

Peter Schweitzer (APRI & University Vienna, AT)